Twelve Dancing Princesses

My calendar this month has Kay Nielson’s “Twelve Dancing Princesses”:

And then this happened:

 

I stayed up dancing til there’s holes in my shoes,

From elegant gliding and rocking the blues

And my sticking-out toes clad in shredded-up shoes

Grew much too tired to wriggle at you.

 

I danced all night til my stockings had holes

From jerking in time and prancing my poles

And my worn-out legs, dragging their shoes,

Felt far too tired to twirl round with you.

 

I spun and whirled til my skirts had tears,

From clutching hands and being flung in the air.

And everything it covered before it flew

Had lost all desire for nighttime with you.

 

I kept on dancing til my bodice had rips

where hands were warm and manners had slipped,

And even my corset released its ties

exhausted from night filled with you and I.

 

I danced all night til my voice had gaps.

My breath went unused and my words lapsed.

Since no one listened to things that were true

As I discovered holes in my dancing with you.

 

I kept on swaying til I saw my holes.

How I was uncovered, wore unsteady clothes.

I saw only holes in the things I could do

Dancing so fast with less clothing and you.

 

I danced until my lungs had rips

From moving fast and kisses-stopped lips.

Til my breath was too weary to cause a sigh

As your dance took my lungs, the air, and I.

 

I whirled with the dance til there were holes in my heart.

The gold and silver leaves sliced it apart.

Empty branches can’t stop exhaustion coming through

Or hide these holes from my night here with you.

 

I danced until there were holes in my mind.

Til trees sparkled with jewels of every kind.

Til my brain was so foggy I couldn’t think why

there appeared such holes between you and I.

 

I danced through the night until you had holes.

From the look in your eyes to your feet’s soles.

Being so tired I just fell right through

a lake-sized hole to the center of you.

 

I danced all night having holes torn in me

Til all that I had was made plain to see.

You danced through me as easy as night

But after rowing your holes, mine are shut tight.

 

I danced all night til there’s holes in my shoes

From elegant gliding and rocking the blues.

Now the holes are gone and your night is, too.

I’m never too tired to turn myself new.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theRibz
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 02:29:53

    This is great! I really love it!

    Reply

  2. wheresmytower
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 00:05:24

    Thank you so much! I was nervous because I posted it so soon after writing it. But that picture was the kind that keeps badgering me until I do something about it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

