The Borgia Bulletin (The Day of Spoilers)

I regret to say, this episode seemed like filler, which is not what I expect from the Borgias.

I am glad both Roderigo and Cesare handled the aftermath of the last episode’s climax so well.  I’m glad the Pope’s penance wore out so…unremorsefully.  Jeremy Irons had me worried for a minute last week.  I also really enjoy seeing Cardinal Sforza get to be a player.  He knows what he’s doing and it’s good to see the Cardinals interacting with each other again.  After all, the Borgias are the head of this group, not yet Italy.  The interaction between Cesare and the Pope was perfect, from start to finish.  I love that they’re clearly becoming different forces now, instead of being such a cohesive team.  It is wonderful.

I’m sorry to say that it seems they’ve officially run out of things for Colm Feore to do.  I know it’s been hard to keep his story line interesting and, this being the Borgias, poison seems like a likely answer.  Unfortunately, it merely shows that he’s officially gone crazy, that he has no gratitude at all for actually getting a volunteer to be poisoned in the first place, and that he is no Obi Wan.  Terrible mentor, that guy.  I hope the volunteer kid died.

About Savonarola: you know what would be even more fun?  If the Pope threatened to excommunicate the whole city, thus making no one able to gain priestly services for marriages, baptisms, final rites, etc.  In effect, it would be threatening to send everyone to hell because of this heretic.  How much more satisfying that would be than simply knowing eventually the man will burn.  The sodomy issue could be so interesting, but they just sortof brought it up and left it hanging this episode.  I like the thought that Michiletto got to work off his vexation about witnessing the anti sodomy violence by killing those soldiers, though.

Ah, Machiavelli.  I have longed for your presence, but as I feared-it means there is less of Michiletto.  I’m not sure I can live with less Michiletto at this point.  So, nice to see you, lovely to work with you, but hold off just a little longer, ok?

Lucrezia seems hell bent on proving the theory that love can only exist outside of marriage.  I look forward to seeing the fallout, but again-there wasn’t enough to really get into this week.  Next week we shall get so many things: Juan!  Catherina besieged!  The proper amount of Lucrezia!  Why am I tortured with this filler?  I don’t want to wait for these things!  Oh, and my last thought before the end of the episode when the Pope is coaching Cesare about the return of Juan…you remember Lucrezia’s going to kill him, right?  Poor Cesare must be so  miserable to have forgotten even about that.

Leave a Reply

