Solastalgia: The perfect film for painter Jeremy Irons and writer Alan Rickman to separately realize they suffer from this at home, and then meet together at their vacation spot in Rome. I don’t know that it matters what happens after that. It’ll be good.

Books Around The Table

I like words.  That’s a condition endemic to writers (along with an obsession with stationary supplies) but I don’t think it comes out in quite the way people imagine.  It’s not like I love a thesaurus, which, if used with too much enthusiasm, can produce writing  filled with inflated diction. No, writing like that, all tarted up, is not what loving words is about, at least not in my opinion. I don’t make lists of my favorite words and then look for random places to insert them in my writing. What I’m more interested in, in terms of words, is where they come from – their etymologies and how they made their way from one part of the world and one language group to another part of the world altogether, and how they changed as they moved through time and space. The Oxford English Dictionary handles etymologies brilliantly – I’ll take…

View original post 389 more words

Leave a Reply

