“Let Down Your Hair”

“Let Down Your Hair”

 

 

 

Some of these nights I’ll let down my hair.

I’ll open my heart, linking lines to those I know

-I’ll type laughs with keys or ask with my voice,

And work on those ‘us’s that need ties to grow.

 

 

 

I’ll let out my musings; I’ll send out my rope,

Work to weave us together through this space we’re apart.

If my strands are strong enough to keep ‘us’ a choice,

I’ll bend to braid us up, taut and tight with my hope.

 

 

 

Sometimes my reach now fails, and all my mind can do

Is strive to pull through life’s demands on paper, work, and desks.

The heavy weight drags my head down, my words aren’t for my heart.

I only hear those deads and lines, see only the downward view.

 

 

 

Sometimes I let myself to the ground,

I feel honest, and spoken, and true.

My messages shine with the love that they bear,

That I hang on my missives to you.

 

 

 

I stand sometimes, alone out here-my strands hang heavy on my head.

Dragging and pulling, building worry and ache,

My mind fears loneliness in the empty air,

And the tension of not getting an answer then turns my words into lead.

 

 

 

Some of these nights, I’ll let down my hair.

Some of these twists will help my heart fare.

Some of these strands will hurt as they lower

During those times when all missives come slower.

Some of these ropes will tighten a noose

For times when life shakes every plan loose.

 

 
But my world is bigger when you are there.

So, some of these nights…

I’ll let down my hair.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sinistmer
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 23:29:23

    Very nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

