“Witch Eyes”

A poem based on Hansel and Gretel:

 

“Witch Eyes”

 

Limbs lock round, tangling tight,

to choke sky’s rays and coerce fright.

The ground scuffs feet, its roots rise,

but most dangerous here is those watching eyes.

 

They measure you, weigh you, imagine you, own you-

And all I can do is look back or away.

See you, scorn you, devour you, stone you,

I’m still turning, trying steps to find my way.

 

But the woods are knit tight and the witch is stronger, still.

The only steps that hold me are those that match her will.

Her world is mixed and heated like a cake-

I’m just an ingredient to melt down as I bake.

 

Her eyes add you, beat you, stir you, bend you,

But my head is ringing with dreams, Pandora’s box.

Her eyes strain you, boil you, drain you, end you,

But my heart is pulsing; My will unlocks.

 

Blood burns hot, but now the woods part.

Eyes can’t watch from a baked and burnt heart.

Fears and captured nightmares lie dead.

It’s life that is sweet-she made just a crust of bread.

Leave a Reply

