The White Queen 1×1 “In Love with the King”

A War of the Roses TV show, complete with the excuse of being based on a book to explain away historical inaccuracy, and a sideline in witchcraft!  What’s the worst that could happen?  Truth be told, I’m not sure yet.  The pilot was a decent entrance.  However, it manages it without doing anything to allay fears that it will fall apart soon or compel audiences to much of any definite emotions.  *side-eyes show*  Nevertheless, let’s saddle up.

 

SPOILER-FREE:

First and foremost, I feel that the entire drama played up by so many other shows for HOURS about Anne Boleyn playing for the hand of Henry VIII has been condensed, juiced, and served up as a pre-entree refreshment, because that Entire Storyline fit right into this pilot.  They had time left over for a heap of introductions, their magic sideline, and of course, gratuitous sex, even.  This amuses me greatly and gives me hope for more surprises in this show.

 

Second and side-eyed, are some of the casting choices.  WHY does the future Richard III look like he’s about to be in a high school geek movie??  Not happy.  MUST Warwick’s portrayal be so easily demonized so early?  Of course, this is balanced by the great choices of Elizabeth Woodville herself, her mother, and David Oakes (JUAAAN) as the Duke of Clarence.  I would almost be willing to watch this show solely for that, truth be told.

 

Third and thoughtful, why are the costumes not more amazing?  The whole look of the show is very “treat me seriously, I’m played down and authentic”, which is NOT the way something based on a Philippa Gregory book should go.

 

Fourth and finally, the magic sideline could be a lot of fun and humorous for people who love their history, or it could just be heavy-handed foreshadowing boring to those in the know and frustrating to those who aren’t at this point.  I very much hope it’s the former.

 

So, basically, my thoughts are still pretty up for grabs with this show.  How’re yours?

 

SPOILERS:

1. The fact that this century’s “love” arrangements are laid completely bare both rattles and pleases me.  I am torn.  On the one hand, probably-yeah, like that.  Plus, things that give Elizabeth excuses to play with knives are fun.  On the other hand, the fact that somehow the show is simultaneously trying to play out the love story as some kind of revamping of Edward IV’s character is…strange and disconnected.  At least for me.  So basically, what I’m left with is that I don’t know what to think of this Edward IV incarnation.  Cause on the one hand, he was this kind of bastard.  On the other hand, he’s not a glorious bastard enough for me to enjoy that part of him and it’ll be much easier to enjoy this show if he doesn’t rub me the wrong way all the time.  Plus, I feel like the actor is doing his best and it was mainly some gaps/rushing in the writing that is causing the disconnect.  So, we shall see.

2. I am deeply looking forward to the royal brotherly loves being foiled by the Woodville brotherly loves.  There should be a lot of that.

3. I do really enjoy Jaquetta.  I’d like to watch shows with her-I know she’ll be yelling out the reasonable advice right along with me.  Plus, you’ve just got to enjoy that kind of brashness.

 

Leave a Reply

