Top 10 Books I was forced to read:

This is a meme from The Broke and the Bookish: http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.com/

I no particular order, these are books I was assigned to read in school and that I loved.

 

 

1. Lion of Ireland by Morgan Llewelyn (undergrad)

lionofireland

-This tale of Brian Boru is both accurate enough that I could read it for an Irish history course, and so moving and glorious that I often reread parts.

2. Idylls of the King by Sir Alfred Tennyson (high school)

-I love Arthurian lore and am a fan of Tennyson’s verse.

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (high school)

-This not only captured my attention for witty and romantic reasons, but was often read aloud in excerpts during class.  (Mr. Collins’ proposal was coerced out of my future fiance when he fell asleep and dropped out of his desk in class.  Although I had no interest in him at the time, I do treasure that memory now.)

4. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (undergrad)

GreenKnight

-Again-I adore Arthurian lore, and this legend in particular has a special place in my imagination as mixing decapitation and romance so colorfully.

5. Candide by Voltaire (undergrad)

-We don’t know what you’re doing with your monks, indeed!

6. Canterbury Tales by Chaucer (high school and undergrad)

canterbury

-Ah, elegance, raunchiness, and insults wrapped up with a sarcastically pious bow.  Who can resist that present?

7. Caucasia by Danzy Senna (graduate school)

-This novel really hits on so many racial and coming-of-age notes, it’s remarkable.  Plus, it’s secretly a version of “The Juniper Tree.”

8. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde (high school)

earnest

-*begins to eat muffins*

9. King Lear by Shakespeare (high school)

-This is my favorite Shakespeare tragedy.  Have you READ the jester’s insults?  They are his absolute best, which is saying a lot.  Plus, fake madness.  I love a good fake madness, and in here it beats Hamlet’s.

10. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead by Tom Stoppard (high school)

rosandguil

-Now, if we came from back there, and it is morning, than the sun would be over there.  And if the sun is really over there, then…it’s the afternoon.

 

Any thoughts, additions, or objections?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alison Doherty
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 01:20:26

    Love Pride and Prejudice and The Importance of Being Earnest … they would have been on my list if someone had forced me to read them. Although Rosencrantz and Guildenstern is one of my least favorite reads.

    Reply

  2. wheresmytower
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 01:38:48

    Ah, well Stoppard is definitely not for everyone. But yes, both that and the Importance of Being Earnest I read for class and then proceeded to read them aloud with everyone I knew who didn’t have to. And then the Colin Firth movie came out, and all was splendorous. 🙂 I’m just glad plays work. I would’ve been in trouble if I couldn’t have plays. I did have “A Tale of Two Cities” on deck, but though I ended up loving it I did hate its guts until about chapter 14, so it didn’t seem to quite fit the bill.

    Reply

  3. turtlephoenix
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 19:51:02

    Reblogged this on Brown Betty with Death! and commented:
    I got this from my good friend http://www.wheresmytower.wordpress.com, who got it from http://www.brokeandbookish.wordpress.com.

    The books I was forced to read and grew to love:
    1) Gulliver’s Travels. This book is so much fun. I

    Reply

Leave a Reply

