Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

This is a rendition of Top Ten Tuesday by the thebrokeandthebookish.wordpress.com. This week’s prompt was the top ten books you’re unsure you want to read through. This week was tricky, but there are some books with ???s after them in my mind and here they are:

Top Ten Books to Read or Not to Read?

1. “Gathering Blue” by Lois Lowry
-I loved “The Giver” and I’m not sure about it having sequels. I don’t think it needs sequels and I’m worried about delving into them, particularly so long after reading the first book and with the knowledge that I missed the sequels because their publisher shared my opinion that “The Giver” should stand on its own. On the other hand…well, there’s more! That everyone’s talking about! And that might be fun to revisit…I don’t know.

2. “The Time-Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger
-I’ve heard so much about this and it has time-travel! And librarians! But whenever I actually have this book physically in my hands it just doesn’t call to me, it falls flat.

3. “Islands of Chaldea” by Diana Wynne Jones and her sister Ursula
-See, I love Diana Wynne Jones, and I have actually had one success with a book finished by another author, but…it’s just so dangerous! Especially now that Diana’s gone and it’s touted as her last work, and…it feels dangerous.

4. “Six Gun Snow White” by Catherynne M. Valente
-This book sounds beautiful and I love fairy tale retellings, but…confound it, I hate westerns! It’s a conundrum

5. “Return to the Hundred Acre Wood” by David Benedictus and Mark Burgess
-I love Winnie the Pooh. It’s hard to have Winnie the Pooh tales out there I haven’t read, I have all of A.A. Milne! Yet…that’s A.A. Milne. I find this new author thing suspicious. o.O

6. “The Further Tale of Peter Rabbit” by Emma Thompson
-Same problem as above, although I’m not as attached to this rabbit and I do like Emma…

7. “I, Mona Lisa” by Jeanne Kalogridis
-I really enjoy this author and I have read other books by her, but for some reason this one, with the reference to such an iconic art piece just doesn’t hook me in. Messing with things that are too iconic just seems forced, overdone, or just like a poor idea so often…

8. Proust
-I began his works before and they are intriguing, but…they are so exhausting. And so hard to get back into once left. I just don’t know that I can keep going at all, even through the first volume…

9. “The Lunar Chronicles” by Marissa Meyer, particularly “Cress”
-Again, I love fairy tale retellings and I am particularly fond of Rapunzel. On the other hand, that makes me more prickly than ever about Rapunzel and particularly things that try to give fairy tales more excitement or draw them together have proved pitfalls before.

10. Books by Stephen Fry
-I love this man and find him all that Polonius imagined himself to be, but having tried one of his works and utterly failed to get into it, I am wary. Yet, I hear such interesting things and have every reason to believe them true…

This is nerve-wracking, dragging all my reading instincts and hesitations out into view. Any reassurances, confirmations, or warnings?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alison Doherty
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 10:29:34

    I loved The Time Traveller’s Wife, just to ad my voice to the many who’ve suggested it. I felt kind of meh about Cinder, so I’m not sure if I’m going to continue with the Lunar Chronicles.

    Reply

    • wheresmytower
      Aug 12, 2014 @ 21:34:36

      Well, thank you for helping me off the hook for the Lunar Chronicles. I don’t know what it is about the Time-Traveller’s Wife…the covers perhaps? Because I often pick it up and sometimes start reading and I just never seem to get anywhere…Thank you though, for the input!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

